The Trust Board currently has 10 Directors including the CEO.  Collectively the Directors bring a wide range of professional skills and expertise to run the trust effectively. They include a Church Ethos Director nominated by Newcastle Diocesan Education Board to reflect the fact that we are a mixed multi academy trust with Church and non-Church schools

Apart from the CEO who is an employee of the trust, directors are volunteers although they may claim expenses under certain circumstances.

We review the skills profile of individual directors and conduct a skills audit of the board as a whole at least annually to check for any skills gaps and identify training needs.

We publish the declared business and pecuniary interests of our directors including the CEO/Accounting Officer in the individual profiles below.  We also maintain a register of interests including any close family relationships for all members, directors and senior employees to ensure we are aware of any potential conflicts of interest.

All Directors can be contacted via Suzanne Hendey, Clerk to the Directors.  Please use the Contact page to get in touch with us, or telephone 0191 228 4090.

Mr Roger Alston OBE

Non-Executive Director/Chair

Appointed by the Members: 12 January 2017/Re-appointed by the Members with current term of office: to 11 January 2025

Declared interests: None.

Roger was formerly the CEO of a multi academy trust in the north east of England and has extensive experience as a teacher, senior leader and headteacher in secondary education. He was previously a governor at Benfield School and was instrumental in supporting the set-up of the trust in 2017.

Mrs Debi Bailey

Director and Chief Executive Officer/Accounting Officer

Appointed: 12 January 2017/Term of office: ex-officio as CEO

Declared interests:
Trustee - Right To Succeed (since July 2020)

Debi is an employee of NEAT and has a staff profile on the Meet the CEO webpage.

Mr Steve Beharall

Non-Executive Director

Appointed by the Members: 23 February 2017/Re-appointed by the Members with current term of office: to 22 February 2025

Declared interests:
Newcastle United Foundation, Employee (since September 2016)
Newcastle United Foundation Projects Limited (since February 2020)
Newcastle United Women's Football Club Limited, Director (since August 2020)

Steve is the Head of Foundation at Newcastle United Foundation, a charitable organisation established by Newcastle United Football Club with the aim of using the power of football for the benefit of our community to help change lives for the better.

Mrs Nichola Brannen

Non-Executive Director/Church Ethos Director

Nominated by Newcastle Diocesan Education Board. Appointed by the Members: 26 October 2018/Term of office to 25 October 2022

Declared interests:
The Federation of Longhorsley and Whalton Church of England Schools, Employee and Governor (since November 2014)

Nichola is our Church Ethos Director appointed by the Newcastle Diocesan Education Board. She is the Executive Headteacher of two first schools in Northumberland and previously worked within our trust community as a Deputy Headteacher. Prior to headship, Nichola was a local authority adviser within Newcastle supporting primary school improvement and leadership.

Nadia Iftkhar

Non-Executive Director/Co-VIce Chair

Appointed by the board: 22 June 2017/Term of office: to 21 June 2021

Declared interests:
Company of Others, Director (since February 2016)

Nadia is Artistic Director and CEO of Company of Others, a charity which works in dance and the arts to mitigate the impact of social injustice on our communities. She has made and collaborated on over 30 works that have been performed locally and internationally in theatres, community centres, schools and universities.

Former director in the last 12 months - Shaun Fooy

Appointed by the board: 29 March 2018/Resigned: 7 May 2021

Declared interests: British Business Bank, Employee (since October 2018), SRF Consultancy Ltd, Director (since October 2015)

Dr Steve Leggetter

Non-Executive Director

Appointed by the Members: 13 October 2020/Term of office to: 12 October 2024

Declared interests:
Assurance Consultancy Ltd, Director (since February 2007)
Northumbria University, Employee (since September 2020)

Steve is an IT specialist with experience in blue chip consultancy, programme delivery and IT Director roles across universities, healthcare, local authority and the private sector. He is currently lecturing at Northumbria University.

Mr Andrew Lister

Non-Executive Director

Appointed by the board: 22 June 2017/ Term of office: to 21 June 2021

Declared interests:
A Lister Technologies Ltd, Director (since September 2014)
SERCO, Employee (since May 2018)

Andrew has global IT experience across a range of companies and countries with strategic responsibility for managing resources, systems and people, as well as expertise in running his own consultancy.

Dr Anne McNall

Non-Executive Director/Co-Vice Chair

Appointed by the Members: 12 January 2017/Re-appointed by the Members with current term of office: to 11 January 2025

Declared interests: None

Anne was formerly Associate Professor and Director of Strategic Workforce Development in the Nursery, Midwifery and Health Department of Northumbria University. Her professional background is as an adult general nurse and midwife and she has extensive experience of teaching in the health sector.

Mrs Sue Ormerod

Non-Executive Director

Appointed by the board: 19 July 2018/ Term of office: to 18 July 2022

Declared interests:
Nigel Wright Consultancy, Employee (since June 2002) and minority shareholder (since October 2020)
Forest Hall Primary School, Governor (since Sept 2013)

Sue is Regional Director for Nigel Wright Recruitment and specialises in Executive IT and HR recruitment throughout the North of England. She chairs the Nigel Wright IT Director Forum and is heavily involved in the HR Business Leaders’ Forum.

Former director in the last 12 months - Steven Strassheim

Appointed by the Members: 23 January 2020/Resigned: 15 January 2021

Declared interests: Modular Law Ltd, Director (since Sept 2017)

Former director in the last 12 months - Michael White

Appointed by the board: 29 March 2018/Resigned: 10 November 2020

Declared interests: NEAT Active Ltd, Director (since June 2019), Whites Consultancy, Owner (since 2016)

NEAT Academy Trust is an exempt charity and company limited by guarantee registered in England with company number 10561094. The company's registered office is Heaton Centre, Trewhitt Road, Heaton, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE6 5DY