There are five Members which include both individuals and corporate bodies.  As a mixed multi academy trust including schools with and without a religious character, our members include representation from the Church of England.

We publish the declared business and pecuniary interests of our members in the individual profiles below.  We also maintain a register of interests including any close family relationships for all members, directors and senior employees to ensure we are aware of any potential conflicts of interest.

All Members can be contacted via Suzanne Hendey, Clerk to the Directors.  Please use the Contact page to get in touch with us, or telephone 0191 228 4090.

Mr Roger Alston OBE

Member and Chair of the Trust Board

Date of appointment: 12 January 2017

Declared interests:
NEAT Active Limited, Director (since February 2017)

The Right Revd Christine Hardman

Member (ex-officio as The Bishop of Newcastle)

Date of appointment: 12 January 2017

Declared interests:
Newcastle Diocesan Board of Finance, Director (since September 2015)
Dame Allan's School, President (since 2016)
Court of Newcastle University, Member (since 2016)

Rev Canon Stephen Herbert


Date of appointment: 12 January 2017

Declared interests:
St Martin's Centre Partnership, Chair of Trustees (since November 2009)
Welbeck Academy, Local Governor (since September 2012)

Mr Peter Nigel Hasting Smith


Nigel Smith has been Chairman of Ringtons Holdings Ltd since 2000 and a director since 1980. Ringtons is a local 110 year old family tea business formed in 1907 and a head office in Byker. Nigel’s family are very important to him consisting of wife Linda, 3 married daughters and 8 grandchildren.

Date of appointment: 12 January 2017

Declared interests:
Ringtons Holdings Ltd and other subsidiary companies, Director (since 1980)

The Newcastle Diocesan Education Board (enacted by The Venerable Mark Wroe, Archdeacon of Northumberland)

Date of appointment: July 2020

Declared interests: To be confirmed

Former member within last 12 months - The Newcastle Diocesan Education Board (enacted by The Venerable Peter Robinson, Archdeacon of Lindisfarne)


Date of appointment: 12 January 2017/Date stepped down: July 2020

Declared interests:
Newcastle Diocese Board of Finance, Director (since March 2008)
Community Action Northumberland, Director (since March 2008)
Lindisfarne Regional Training Partnership, Director (since May 2009)
Seahouses Hostel, Trustee (since March 2008)
Newcastle Diocesan Society, Director (since March 2008)
William Temple Foundation, Director (since 2004)
Newcastle Diocesan Education Board, Member and Director (since 2014)
Northumberland Church of England Academy, Member (since 2009)

Members meet at least annually.  Minutes of general meetings of the members during 2017-18 and 2018-19 are provided below:
The date of the last Annual General Meeting was 23 January 2020.  The minutes will appear here once they are agreed. The next Annual General Meeting will be in January 2021.